Header Image

Planning Commission

Planning has been one of the key features of Forest Park since its inception. The initial construction of Forest Park was guided by a Master Plan prepared in 1953, before the community was incorporated. Forest Park has regularly revised and updated the Master Plan, first with Comprehensive Master Plan of 1964, and again in 1972 and 1990. The Forest Park Planning Commission is the appointed board that oversees the master plan and ensures that development and redevelopment within Forest Park is in harmony with the plan and meets the standards of the community.

The Planning Commission consists of seven members:


Barrie Owen, Chairman Dennis Smith, Vice-Chairman
Lewis Bunton, Secretary Charles Johnson, Mayor
Wynndel Burns, Council Rep. Dave Aaronson
Susan Anuforo  
(No vacancies)
The Planning Commission generally meets on the second Tuesday of the month. See below for the dates of upcoming meetings.
The powers of the Planning Commission include the following:

Non-Conforming uses. The substitution or expansion of a nonconforming use or structure.

Temporary uses. The Commission may authorize the temporary use of a structure or premises in any district for a purpose or use that does not conform to the regulations prescribed elsewhere for the district in which it is located, provided that such use be of temporary nature, and does not involve the erection of a substantial structure.

Interpretation of the zoning map. In case of any question as to the location of any boundary line between zoning districts, a request for interpretation of the zoning map may be made to the Commission, and a determination shall be made by the Commission.

Interpretation of zoning text. If there is uncertainty as to the meaning and intent of a textual provision of this chapter, the Secretary of the Board, the Administrative Official, or the Chairperson of the Planning Commission may request the Commission to interpret the same.

Administrative review. The Commission shall have the power to hear and decide appeals where it is alleged by the appellant that there is error in any order, requirement, decision, grant, or refusal made by the Administrative Official or other official in the interpretation of the provisions of the zoning code.

Variances. In the case of exceptionally irregular, narrow, shallow, or steep lots, or other exceptional physical conditions, the Commission shall have the power to vary or adapt the strict application of any of the requirements of this chapter whereby such strict application would deprive the owner of the reasonable use of the land or building involved, but in no other case.

Revocation of variances. The Commission may revoke an authorized variance if any condition of the variance is violated.

Special exceptions. The Commission shall have the power to grant special exceptions where provided for in Appendix B.

Stormwater Management Code. The Commission shall hear and rule on variances and appeals pertaining to Chapter 51 (Stormwater Management Code) as specifically detailed in that chapter.

Sign Code. The Commission shall hear and rule on variances and appeals pertaining to Chapter 90 (Sign Code).

District changes and regulation amendments. The Commission shall hear and make recommendations to Council concerning proposed zone changes and amendments to the zoning code.

Development plans and site plans. The Commission shall hear and rule on or make recommendations to Council on development and site plans.


Subscribe to this feed

Upcoming Meetings

More | Subscribe to this feed